Patient & Visitor InformationContact Us
  • Nephrology

  • Meet the Team

  • The division of nephrology consists of five full-time nephrologists, one pediatric nephrologist, one molecular biologist and ten practicing nephrologists who are integral participants in the division's clinical and educational activities. One full-time nephrologist specializes in renal transplantation and works closely with our transplant surgeons. Staff members run the renal, hypertension and transplant clinics at Rhode Island Hospital, attend consultation and inpatient services at Rhode Island and The Miriam hospitals, and carry out many teaching and research activities.

    Division of Renal Diseases Staff

    • Lance Dworkin, MD
      Division chief
    • J. Gary Abuelo, MD
      Fellowship director
    • Douglas Shemin, MD
      Dialysis unit director
    • Reginald Gohh, MD
      Transplant nephrologist
    • Andrew Beaulieu, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Andrew Bostom, MD, PhD
      Staff Physician
    • Andrew Brem, MD
      Pediatric nephrologist
    • Joseph Chazan, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Richard Cottiero, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Raymond Endreny, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Elkin Estrada, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Charles McCoy, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Ildiko Medve, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Mark Siskind, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Michael Thursby, DO
      Staff nephrologist
    • Marc Weinberg, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Angelito Yango, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • David Yoburn, MD
      Staff nephrologist
    • Steven Zipin, MD
      Staff nephrologist

    Transplant Services

    • Anthony Monaco, MD
    • Amitabh Guatam, MD
      Transplant surgeon
    • Paul Morrissey, MD
      Transplant surgeon