Get More Information about Patient Safety

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
    The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), complementing the biomedical research mission of its sister agency, the National Institutes of Health. AHRQ is a home to research centers that specialize in major areas of health care research such as quality improvement and patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, clinical practice and technology assessment, and health care organization and delivery systems.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    The CDC is one of the major operating components of the US Department of Health and Human Services. Its mission is to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability.
  • Hospital Compare (HHS - U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services)
    Hospital Compare has quality measures on how often hospitals provide some of the recommended care to get the best results for most patients. Quality information is provided on hospitals treating adult patients for heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia, or having surgery.
  • Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)
    The Institute for health care Improvement (IHI) is a non-for-profit organization that seeks to lead the improvement of health care throughout the world. IHI was founded in 1991 and is based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. IHI's work is funded primarily through its own fee-based program offerings and services, and through the support of foundations, companies, and individuals.
  • Institute for Safe Medicine Practices (ISMP)
    The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), based in suburban Philadelphia, is the nation's only 501c (3) nonprofit organization devoted entirely to medication error prevention and safe medication use.
  • National Academy of Medicine (NAM)
    The National Academy of Medicine (NAM), established in 1970 under the name Institute of Medicine (IOM), is an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health and medicine; the natural, social, and behavioral sciences; and beyond. It serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as adviser to the nation and the international community. Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine, and related policy and inspire positive action across sectors. The NAM collaborates closely with its peer academies and other divisions  within the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.
  • Joint Commission (formerly JCAHO)
    The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that evaluates and accredits nearly 15,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. The organization sets standards that focus on improving the quality and safety of care provided by health care organizations. The Joint Commission's comprehensive accreditation process evaluates an organization's compliance with these standards and other accreditation requirements. To earn and maintain The Joint Commission's Gold Seal of Approval™, an organization must undergo an on-site survey by a Joint Commission survey team at least every three years. (Laboratories must be surveyed every two years.)
  • National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF)
    The National Patient Safety Foundation is an independent not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization that has is focused on improving the safety of patients.