Lifespan today announced that Herbert D. Aronow, MD, MPH, FSVM, director of interventional cardiology at the Lifespan Cardiovascular Institute and director of the cardiac catheterization laboratories at Rhode Island and The Miriam Hospitals, was elected president of the Society for Vascular Medicine for the 2021-2023 term.

“It is an honor to serve as SVM’s next president and I look forward to working alongside the Board of Trustees and other Society leaders to advance the vascular medicine discipline and the care of vascular patients,” said Aronow.  “In collaboration with other vascular organizations, I plan to broaden our efforts around vascular education, research and quality.”

Dr. Aronow has been active as a leader in the Society for Vascular Medicine during his 16 years of membership.  He served two terms each as a trustee-at-large and secretary, one term as president-elect, and is past chair of the Membership and Annual Scientific Sessions Program Committees.  He also serves on the editorial board for the Society’s Vascular Medicine Journal.

Dr. Aronow is an associate professor of medicine at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.  He earned his medical degree from the University of Michigan Medical School and his master’s degree in epidemiology from the University of Michigan School of Public Health in Ann Arbor. Dr. Aronow completed his internal medicine residency at the University of Michigan, and cardiovascular medicine and interventional cardiology fellowships at the Cleveland Clinic.

Kathleen Hart

Director, Public Relations